The World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) has ruled that mobile phone firm, Carphone Warehouse registered the domain name 'easiermobile.com' in bad faith, and ordered it to transfer ownership to Easy Group chief, Stelios Haji-Ioannou.
Carphone Warehouse registered the domain on the same day as Easy launched the similar sounding 'easymobile.com', advertising its own mobile service with a mocking reference to the sprawling Easy Group empire.
"The Carphone Warehouse doesn't try to run airlines, it sells mobile phones," visitors to the website were told.
Referring to the head of Carphone Warehouse, Charles Dunstone in robust terms, Mr Haji-Ioannou argued following delivery of the WIPO verdict that:
"Hijacking our name, or at least using a very similar name, is not something that I think responsible companies should do."
.
|
Archive | Resources | Partners | Site Map | Links | Newsletter Archive | Contact | RSS Feeds | About | Syndication | Advertising & Marketing | Recruitment | Terms & Conditions | Privacy & Cookies
Copyright © 2012 - All Rights Reserved - Tax-News.com
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Tax-News.com has taken reasonable care in sourcing and presenting the information contained on this site, but accepts no responsibility for any financial or other loss or damage that may result from its use. In particular, users of the site are advised to take appropriate professional advice before committing themselves to involvement in offshore jurisdictions, offshore trusts or offshore investments.
Write a comment